Your Big House Is Useless

4 living rooms. 5 bathrooms. 3 guest bedrooms and an indoor pool. When you walk into the shower, jets hit you from multiple angles.

One angle is simply not enough.

After years of sharing rooms and beds with other people, I learned just how little space I really need. But more importantly, I learned how grotesque American home-ownership is.

I walked into a new house the other day.

Although they were a family of 3, they lived in a house which could easily house 6 or 7. To give you a better idea, let’s take the 9 year old. The kid has a bathroom, playroom and bedroom approximately 7 times larger than his bed.

How much space could this small child possibly need?

When I received the tour, everyone gawked about the space. My well-meaning friend even suggested we could have a sleepover in the closet.

I’m not a big fan of closets, so I took a hard pass there.

Everything was so pretty and cute.

The house was clean. Sheets tucked and pressed. A light smell of laundry detergent. But one comment from the Mother’s mouth spoke volumes.

“There is always something broken in this house”

And the hits kept coming.

“We need more lighting in this room”.

“I have no idea what to do with all that space”.

“I hate all the furniture in here”.

$300,000 home. To do what with? Complain?

Look, I get it. It’s easy to attack rich people who complain about all of the privileged stuff they have. But it goes further. Much further. Because to a certain extent we know they don’t need the sh*t they are complaining about. And not only do they have too much sh*t, they will always want more.

Why on earth would 3 people ever need a home with 7 bedrooms?

Why does having a high paying job mean you need a gigantic house?

Why do people assume I’m jealous when I point these issues out?

I’m not jealous. I’m calling out greed.

The constant need for more. More cars. More house. More bedrooms. More toys. I see it everywhere.

My three year old cousin has an Amazon Wishlist. An Amazon Wishlist.

I don’t even have a f*cking Amazon Wishlist.

Why do we value objects when they don’t really matter?

Your health matters.

Your relationships matter.

Your impact on the world matters.

Let’s be crystal clear.

Having a big house doesn’t matter.

But those living inside of it do.

Start there.


Up up and away!

If you liked this, please consider supporting my work by giving this piece a ❤. If that’s not your vibe, follow me on Medium, My Blog, Twitter and Facebook.

Leave a Reply

